Lender review · Facts verified September 2026 / september 2026 for this brand
Golden Valley Lending Review
Golden Valley (Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake) is currently paused — its site states it is no longer funding new loans. The tribe’s brands share a CFPB enforcement history: the 2017 suit against their lending operation was dismissed in January 2018, with civil investigative demands continuing since 2020.
The short answer: Golden Valley Lending is a tribal installment lender owned by Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA).
It is not currently funding new loans. It serves most states outside a published exclusion list (0 states excluded),
and its cost disclosure is not published — the loan agreement is the only real quote. Archived pages remain live-looking; confirm any lender is actually funding before applying.
Installment loans (payday-alternative positioning). $300–$1,000 first; up to $1,500 repeat. Multiple installments; length not stated.
The cost, with the math shown
No numeric APR published; disclosures in the loan agreement
Worked example at an illustrative 600% APR — Golden Valley Lending publishes no APR, the agreement is the disclosure: a $500 loan repaid biweekly over 5 months
runs about $128.47 per payment — $1,413.20 total of payments,
of which $913.20 is finance charge. Check that total, not the payment, against your budget.
Where it operates
Golden Valley Lending publishes its excluded states: Availability via state map; may change without notice. That works out to roughly 0 states where applications are accepted. Availability claims on marketing sites notwithstanding,
the exclusion list is the only binding statement.
Disputes: None named — borrower submits to tribal jurisdiction.
Who it fits — and who should keep looking
Fits: Nobody, right now — existing customers should service their loans; new applicants should use active brands.
Think twice: Archived pages remain live-looking; confirm any lender is actually funding before applying.
Checking a Golden Valley Lending-sized offer
Our application form matches your request to lenders serving your state — which may include Golden Valley Lending or better-fitting alternatives. Checking offers does not affect a credit score.
Golden Valley Lending publishes no APR — cost is disclosed only in the loan agreement. As a scale reference, $500 biweekly over 5 months at a market-typical 600% APR runs about $1,413.20 total. Demand the agreement’s payment table before signing.
Is Golden Valley Lending a direct lender?
Yes — it is a lending company owned by Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA), lending under tribal law with its own agreement and tribal-jurisdiction dispute terms.
Does Golden Valley Lending check credit?
Like most tribal lenders it underwrites primarily on verifiable income and banking history rather than a FICO score; a hard pull at application is not part of the published process. The loan generally is not reported to the major credit bureaus either.
Can I pay off a Golden Valley Lending loan early?
Early payoff terms are governed by the agreement; the tribal installment market norm is no prepayment penalty, but confirm the clause before signing.
Context: Site states it is no longer funding new loans; the tribe’s sister brands share the CFPB 2017 enforcement history.
Where our numbers come from
Every fact above is transcribed from Golden Valley Lending’s own website (verified September 2026; newer brands september 2026). The worked example is computed from published figures or an explicitly labeled illustrative rate where the brand publishes none. This review is informational and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Golden Valley Lending.